The Children's Center
Contact Us
hero image

Staff & Board

Board of Trustees

The Children's Center has a 27-member board of trustees that meets 10 times per fiscal year (July-June). Trustees serve on a non-paid volunteer basis and are drawn from a broad professional and community base. Their duties include policy, financial oversight, and fundraising, as well as long-range planning. Trustees are not involved in general management or clinical oversight.

Mikelle Moore, Chair
Brent Moore, Treasurer
Forrest McNabb, Secretary
Adria Swindle, Member-At-Large
Davis Mullholand, past Chair

Jenn Barlow
Amy Damico
Amy de la Garza
Tina Faust
Kay Hall
George Hofmann
Linda Laughlin
Yi-Li Edee Lin
Elisabeth McOmber
Jeremy Miller
Tatiana Miller
Robert Rendón
Mick Routledge
Sandra Sweetland
Paul Allen Thompson
Alexandra Von Maack

Administrative Staff

Our current staff is comprised of 85 employees. These employees range from therapeutic preschool specialists to licensed psychologists and licensed clinical social workers.

Douglas F. Goldsmith, Ph.D., Executive Director
Dr. Goldsmith has worked with the preschool population in a clinical setting for more than 25 years. Dr. Goldsmith has lectured widely along the Wasatch Front and participated with many organizations to develop strategies for providing a variety of services to young children and their families. He has published several articles on the application of attachment theory to clinical practice and a book titled, Attachment Theory in Clinical work with Children: Bridging the Gap between Research and Practice. Dr. Goldsmith holds adjunct faculty appointments at the University of Utah in the departments of Educational Psychology, Psychology, and Psychiatry.

Kristina Hindert, M.D., Medical Director
Dr. Hindert received her medical degree from the University of Utah College of Medicine Pediatric Honors Program in 1978. She is past president of the Intermountain Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and is on the faculty of the University of Utah College of Medicine, where she has helped develop and teach curricula in early mental health intervention for medical students and residents. Dr. Hindert served as the founding president of The Utah Association for Infant Mental Health. She has spoken at numerous national meetings and provides training for professionals throughout Utah.

Sharon Blackburn - Business Director, Kearns Location
Karen Hansen, M.B.A. - Administrative Director
Joelle Kanshepolsky - Director of Development and Communication
Jennifer Mitchell, PhD, BCBA-D - Director of Clinical Services, Kearns location

Kristine Johnson - Office Manager, Salt Lake City Location
Alda Jones, M.A. - Program Director, Early Childhood Consultation and Training Program
Lori Krasny, M.S., CCC-SLP - Autism Services Director
Sandra Valentine, LCSW - Director of Children's Services, Salt Lake City location
Michelle Vo, M.D. - Psychiatrist, Salt Lake City location

Kami Neves, LCMHC
Rebecca Fenander, MS,CCC-SLP
Malinda Freitag, LCMHC
Amy Gaugh, LCSW
Katherine Gardiner, LCMHC, RPT-S
Linda Green-Baskett, LCMHC
Julia Lidgard, M.S., CCC-SLP
Eve Smith, LCSW
Emily D. Smolin, LCSW
Carie Swartz, Ph.D.
Carlee Walsh, PsyD
Katie Wiscomb, LCSW



Copyright © 2016 The Children's Center. All Rights Reserved.